Rice with Guandules

Say what you want but I judge a place on how good their rice is. If they can’t get that right, who know what other kitchen snafus they’ll have. It applies to so many cuisines and is a staple in many homes, including mine!

This was probably one of the first things I learned how to cook while watching my mom in the kitchen. I remember because she’d slap my wrist if I even dared lift the cover to see if it was done. I remember calling her years later confirming the 2-1 ratio – something I can do quickly while the rest of the meal is cooking without monitoring it.

Just remember to get a good boil going because no one likes hard or watery rice.

Here is a variation on traditional white rice, this time with guandu beans!

Capturennn

Rice with Guandules

Ingredients

  • 4 1/4 cups water
  • 2 cups long grain white rice
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sunflower oil
  • A 15 oz. can of Guandu beans (Don’t recommend buying it from here, only to show you what they are)

Method

  1. Over medium high heat, put oil in a pot. Add rice and stir well, toasting it in the oil for about 2-3 minutes.
  2. Add water and beans and bring rice to a rolling boil for 2 minutes.
  3. Reduce to simmer or the lowest setting possible and cover with lid for 20 min. Careful not to lift the cover unless timer goes off.
  4. Remove from heat and let sit for 5 minutes without lifting cover.
  5. Fluff with fork and serve immediately.

Serve with Chicken Allegro and Cole Slaw!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment